• Search within Results

  • Wayne State University; Buildings; College of Education, Historical

    Circa 1930s. The Common Council in 1912 purchased 40 acres at the corner of Grand River and W. Grand Blvd. to be used jointly by Northwestern H.S., the Detroit Recreation Department and the Normal Training School. The latter had occupied several bldgs. since leaving Capital HS in 1888, all unsatisfactory and crowded. By recommendation of Frank Cody, Superintendent of Schools, the name of teh Normal Training School was changed to Detroit Teachers College in 1920. This building was also called the…